Because the likelihood of success is so dramatically reduced for students using illegal drugs, Polk State College is determined to have drug-free campuses. Illegal use of drugs or alcohol is not tolerated on any Polk State College campus or at any College-sponsored event off campus as indicated by District Board of Trustees Rule 4.01: Code of Conduct for Students and Student Organizations and 2.25: Drug-Free Workplace. Certain limited-admission programs have additional procedures regarding the use of drugs and alcohol. Various opportunities exist at Polk State College to educate students about the realities of drug and alcohol abuse. A major unit in the Wellness Concepts course (HLP 1081) covers substance abuse. In addition, special seminars, workshops, and discussion opportunities are scheduled.
Polk State College requires all applicants for admission to commit to obeying the law and refraining from illegal drug and alcohol activity on campuses and at all College events.
Any student who illegally uses drugs or alcohol, or who sells or manufactures legal or illegal drugs on any of the College’s campuses, or centers or at a College-sponsored event off campus, is subject to disciplinary actions, including suspension or expulsion. Additionally, the College refers any individual who engages in illegal drug, controlled substance, or alcohol activity on the College’s campuses or centers (or at College events) to law enforcement for prosecution.
A student who is convicted of a drug offense is required to report the offense to the Campus Associate Dean of Student Services within five days of the student’s first day of classes. Furthermore, any student currently attending Polk State College who is subject to legal action as a result of drug-related offenses is required to contact the Campus Associate Dean of Student Services. The College reserves the right to investigate reports of drug use or conviction. Any student who is found to have neglected this requirement is subject to disciplinary action up to and including expulsion.
A student who is suspended or expelled due to drug-related offenses may be granted readmission only if he or she provides proof of being drug free (or documentation of drug rehabilitation). The Associate Vice President of Student Services reviews the proof provided and makes a decision regarding readmission.
Florida Statute Section 1009.286 establishes an “excess-hour surcharge” for students seeking baccalaureate degrees at state universities. It is critical for students, including those entering Florida College System institutions, to be aware of the potential for additional course fees. The statute describes “excess hours” as hours that go beyond 110 percent of the hours required for a baccalaureate degree program. For example, if the length of the program is 120 credit hours, the student may be subject to an excess-hour surcharge for any credits attempted beyond 132 credit hours (110 percent x 120).
A student whose educational goals may include earning a baccalaureate degree should make every effort to successfully complete each enrolled course on the first attempt and ensure each course applies to the intended major. A Florida College System student intending to transfer to state university should identify a transfer major and transfer institution early to direct proper course selection. The College expects each student to make this selection by the twelfth earned credit hour.
The student should also become informed of the admission requirements for the degree and program selected, including the approved common prerequisites. Course withdrawals and repeats, as well as enrollment in courses that are not essential to the intended major, may contribute to a potential excess-hours surcharge.
The Polk State College online student portal PASSPORT provides degree-audit and program-completion tools for the student, including assistance with forming the Education Plan. Student Success Advisors are available for program, Educational Plan, and career advising between registration periods. Each student is encouraged to make use of these tools and opportunities to plan program progression and to prevent accumulation of excess hours that do not contribute to the student’s program completion.
A degree-program student is considered “continuously enrolled”, provided a break in enrollment does not exceed a year. For example, if a student attended a fall term followed by a lapse in attendance, he or she would be required to reapply for admission if the following spring, summer, and fall terms were missed. Any student who fails to maintain continuous enrollment must apply for readmission under the Catalog in effect at the time of the next enrollment. This must be done before registration can take place. A student who readmits must submit any new or updated transcripts to the College according to the admission procedures.
Children on Campus
Polk State College has no facilities or services to accommodate children while adults are attending class or conducting business on campus. In fairness to others and in recognition of these limited facilities and lack of services, students should not bring children to classes or into other service areas.
Smoking on Campus
Polk State College is a smoke-free campus. Smoking is permitted in designated outdoor areas only.
Student Health Insurance
Polk State College does not provide health insurance or other services related to student healthcare.